HoR meeting: NC demands formation of parliamentary committee on cooperative case

Kathmandu, April 2: The main opposition party, Nepali Congress, has reiterated its demand of forming a parliamentary committee for conducting a fair investigation into cooperative fraud, saying the name of Deputy Prime Minister and Home Minister Rabi Lamichhane is linked to it.

The NC demanded that authority be given to such a committee to carry out an investigation on cooperative fraud cases and bring out the truth.  

Speaker Devraj Ghimire allotted time to NC lawmaker Ram Krishna Yadav after all the NC lawmakers stood from their respective seats in a protest in today’s meeting of the House of Representatives (HoR). 

Speaking in the meeting, lawmaker Yadav pointed out the need for a parliamentary probe into the cooperative fraud scam, citing that a crisis of trust surfaced after the investigation on Lamichhane stopped with the reconstitution of the government. 

He said Home Minister Lamichhane should resign from the post based on ethics as he had taken a loan of Rs 800 million from a cooperative at a time when he was working at Gorkha Media Pvt Ltd and has not yet cleared it.

Lawmaker Yadav also demanded investigation on Minister for Labour, Employment and Social Security, DP Aryal as he is also found involved in cooperative case, clarifying his party would not obstruct the House on other issues except the issues connected with the Home Ministry and Cooperative.  

Urging the government to seriously pay attention on the issues raised by lawmakers in the House, he urged the government to raise hope among the people by ending impunity, and maintaining rule of law and good governance. 

In response, Speaker Ghimire said his and the House’s attention was drawn on the issues raised by lawmaker Yadav.  (RSS)

  • Nepal News Agenacy Pvt. Ltd.

  • Putalisadak, Kathmandu Nepal

  • 01-4011122, 01-4011124

  • [email protected]

  • Department of Information and Broadcasting Regd.No. 2001।077–078

©2024 Nepal Page | Website by appharu.com

Our Team

Editorial Board