Amateur Sadbhav clinches NPGA Tour Championship title

Kathmandu, Mar. 29: Nepal No 1 amateur golfer Sadbhav Acharya recorded a seven-stroke victory over pro Bhuvan Nagarkoti to win the title of the Surya Nepal NPGA Tour Championship, the sixth event under the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2023-24, at the par-72 Gokarna Golf Club on Thursday.

Overnight leader Sadbhav carded a bogey-free 3-under 69 for the 72-hole total of 14-under 274 to claim the third major career title. 

He became the youngest winner in the Tour by winning Surya Nepal Challenge last year and Sadbhav bagged second title in the current season. He won the season-opener Surya Nepal Central Open and became the first player to win two titles in the 2023-24 season.

Pro Bhuvan finished overall second with the score of 7-under 281 after he faltered to 3-over 75 in the final round. He was one stroke behind Sadbhav going into the final round and he finished first among pros winning the top prize money of Rs 140,000.

Amateur Vijay Shrestha Einhaus finished as runner-up in amateur section and he was tied for overall third with pro Niraj Tamang at 4-under 284. 

Vijay carded 1-under 71 in the final round on his way to winning maiden runner-up trophy in the Tour, while Niraj carded 2-under 70. 

Niraj received runner-up prize money of Rs 96,000. Dinesh Prajapati finished third among pros with the total score of even-par 288 and he earned Rs 74,000. Dinesh played 3-over 75 in the final round.

Tashi Tsering fired second straight 1-under 71 to finish third among amateurs at 1-over 289 and he was sixth overall, while national team member Rahul Bishwakarma was seventh at 291 after he played 2-over 74 in the final round.

  • Nepal News Agenacy Pvt. Ltd.

  • Putalisadak, Kathmandu Nepal

  • 01-4011122, 01-4011124

  • [email protected]

  • Department of Information and Broadcasting Regd.No. 2001।077–078

©2024 Nepal Page | Website by

Our Team

Editorial Board