Dahal, Sharma file nomination for NA Chair

Kathmandu, Mar. 12: Official nominations for the election of National Assembly election were officially registered on Monday. Representing both the ruling coalition and opposition factions, Narayan Dahal, a prominent member of the CPN-Maoist Centre, has thrown his hat into the ring alongside Yuvaraj Sharma, a Member of the National Assembly from the Nepali Congress. 

Dahal’s candidacy was proposed by a key figure within his party, Gopi Bahadur Achhami, and supported by Devendra Dahal from CPN (UML), Beduram Bhusal from CPN (Unified Socialists), and Mohammad Khalid from Janata Samajwadi Party.

Meanwhile, Sharma’s bid has received endorsement from influential members of the Nepali Congress, including Anand Prasad Dhungana as his proposer, and Kiran Babu Shrestha and Kishore Kumar Singh as supporters. The registration window for candidature closed at 1 pm, setting the stage for the election scheduled for March 12.

Speaking on behalf of the Nepali Congress, Sharma expressed gratitude for his party’s endorsement, citing his extensive political experience and dedication to democratic ideals as qualifications for the role. He pledged to uphold the integrity of the parliamentary system and serve with dignity if elected.

Reflecting on his journey, Sharma highlighted his involvement in the struggle for democracy, including periods of incarceration and leadership roles within the party. 

Drawing from his five-decade-long political career, he emphasized his commitment to advancing democratic principles and serving the interests of the people.

In contrast, Dahal, representing the ruling coalition, emphasized his contributions and responsibilities within the CPN-Maoist Centre. 

Dismissing allegations of nepotism, he defended his candidacy based on merit and party consensus. He pledged to prioritize the dignity of the National Assembly and work impartially for the betterment of the country.

Dahal’s vision for the National Assembly transcends biased interests, promising to prioritise the institution’s integrity over party affiliations. He underscored the importance of collaboration among all parties to foster a prosperous Nepal, rejecting any notion of undue influence from his party.

With both candidates vying for the esteemed position of National Assembly Chairman, the stage is set for a closely contested election. Dahal’s candidacy represents the unified stance of the ruling coalition, comprising CPN-Maoist Centre, CPN (UML), CPN (United Socialist) and Janata Samajwadi Party Nepal, boasting a collective strength of 39 MPs. On the other hand, Sharma’s candidacy enjoys support from the Nepali Congress and Loktantrik Samajwadi Party, supported by their combined representation of 17 MPs in the National Assembly. 

  • Nepal News Agenacy Pvt. Ltd.

  • Putalisadak, Kathmandu Nepal

  • 01-4011122, 01-4011124

  • [email protected]

  • Department of Information and Broadcasting Regd.No. 2001।077–078

©2024 Nepal Page | Website by appharu.com

Our Team

Editorial Board